PDA

View Full Version : Lynette's Shop vs. Blanking effects



S_OBrien
09-07-2010, 03:06 PM
http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SC9P/scans/04.jpg
http://http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SCIV01/scans/030.jpg
http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SCIV01/scans/020.jpg

What happens to my Lynette's Shop if the card I am copying if it becomes blank or face down?

Da_ghetto_gamer
09-07-2010, 03:12 PM
The card your copying never leaves play so it will stay a copy of it

SMazzurco
09-07-2010, 03:30 PM
but does it become an "exact" copy meaning it is now a card with a blank text box?

i remember a similar ruling...and don't remember how it ended...

basically is lynettes a "living" copy, changing as the original card changes, or is it a "photo" copy which looks at the card when it enters play, and becomes a photo copy until the original leaves play....

like i said, i remember it going one way or the other...but no clue which one, lol.

rAn
09-07-2010, 05:03 PM
There is no clear rule on how often static abilities check status. I would say at the beginning of each phase it would check status.

Da_ghetto_gamer
09-07-2010, 05:24 PM
There is no clear rule on how often static abilities check status. I would say at the beginning of each phase it would check status.

But does Lynettes shop make you check the status of the other foundation or is it a one time thing whenever its played?

Tagrineth
09-07-2010, 05:32 PM
As I recall from prior rulings, the Shop works such that it takes a "photo" copy of the card upon its effect initially resolving, and until the targeted card actually leaves play, the Shop retains the same text.

KodiakZero
09-07-2010, 06:14 PM
It copies the card when it enters the staging area, so i think the text will not change.

rAn
09-07-2010, 06:42 PM
It does say it copies when it enters the staging area, so it should only copy once. I did not RTFC :(

Shinguyi
09-07-2010, 08:55 PM
Yep, just once when it enters the staging area. There was a similar ruling regarding the copied card leaving play like this scenario:

You have Blood Runs True.
Opponent uses Lynette's Shop and copies Blood Runs True; it now is a copy of Blood Runs True.
You Play a Lynette's Shop to copy your opponent's Lynette's shop which is Blood runs true. You now have a Lynette's Shop Blood Runs True.
You destroy your Original Blood Runs True. Opponent's Lynette's Shop becomes blank. Your Lynette's Shop is STILL Blood Runs True because its target is still in play (even though it became blank).

This was an actual ruling back at Fantasy Flight Games. Goes to show that Lynette's Shop copies only when it comes into Staging Area. Doesn't matter what happens to the card being copied as long as its still in the Staging Area.