PDA

View Full Version : zhao daiyu.. viable or not?



madeofwin
10-13-2010, 03:18 AM
Just checking, did zhao daiyu.. ever recieve errata to make her ability actually work the way it was intended, as her ability reads as triggering when your opponent removes a card from the game while all her support says you remove the card not them making her ability next to useless.

Am planning to build her so knowing if she actually works is a bonus

cheers in advance

billyarnoss
10-13-2010, 05:00 AM
I built her assuming that she worked as intended... didn't even think there was a problem, but I do see your point.

JinKazama
10-13-2010, 08:56 AM
There are cards that remove cards of your opponents from play

twilight witch
two deadly rings technique
proficient sniper
sum nina foundation ...
twilight embrace

Shinguyi
10-13-2010, 09:27 AM
it was ruled that whenever a card in your opponent's side of the board is removed it will trigger her response, no matter if the effect says that you remove or your opponent, as long as it was in your opponent's side of the board.

madeofwin
10-13-2010, 10:19 AM
brilliant, i was sure it had been ruled to work that way but wanted to check before constructing the deck. cheers muchly

Tagrineth
10-13-2010, 01:50 PM
Confirming Shinguyi's response.

billyarnoss
10-14-2010, 10:38 AM
Just to check something while we're on the subject. If I use ritual magic and twilight embrace, I can still only respond once right? Because the card removal due to twilight (or whatever) and Ritual magic are simultaneous....?

SMazzurco
10-14-2010, 10:44 AM
Billy,
I would say no, you can use twice.

Opponent removes a card via TE, which triggers the floating effect for RM. Technically, they are not removed "simultaneously". One is removed, then another is "also removed".

I may be incorrect on this one, but that's my best guess. Wait for tag to confirm one way or the other

Shinguyi
10-14-2010, 10:45 AM
If they don't remove at the same time/trigger, you get to respond every time. You can respond to both as far as I know.

When Twilight Embrace goes off, they lose two Vitality. When resolving Ritual Magic, they lose 2 more vitality. They are both different floating effects so you decide the order they are resolved.

billyarnoss
10-14-2010, 11:04 AM
Cool, thanks guys! I'll drop a couple into my deck and see how it goes. Guess the card doesn't really need the word 'also' if that's the case.

Tagrineth
10-14-2010, 06:52 PM
Confirming Ritual Magic gives you another trigger.

Cetonis
04-20-2011, 08:29 PM
Curious since I was asked this today... can you use Zhao Daiyu's R in response to a mulligan going second?

SMazzurco
04-21-2011, 03:01 PM
No. At the time of mulligan the "game" has not started

Wild Party Hat
04-21-2011, 08:51 PM
I was told that you could, as once you have revealed your character and drawn cards, you have technically started the game.

rAn
04-21-2011, 09:43 PM
Character Reveals/Mulligans are pre game setup

Tagrineth
04-21-2011, 10:34 PM
Mr. Mazzurco and rAn are entirely correct.