PDA

View Full Version : New to the game, question about E(#+) effect



Vexion
12-03-2010, 12:05 AM
Ok, so, I'm new to the game. Just picked it up after a few games the other night, got two starters for me and the gf, and a Soul Calibur 4 booster... And my gf got her favorite character, Amy*... So, seeing as the Seigfried deck shared an element or two with Amy*, she switched Seigfried out for Amy as her main until we get more cards... The seigfried deck will slowly morph into an Amy* deck.

Now, we've hit a snag. What the heck is the "E(4+)"? Mainly, what does the 4+ refer too? I have searched for it all day and simply cannot find a reference to it in the rule book, or online. I'm guessing that refers to the printed control check of that particular attack?

Trip Se7ens
12-03-2010, 12:42 AM
E+ refers to you having to check it to pass it.

So if you Play Amy's E, you must flip a card from your deck to pass it, if it is a 4 or higher it passes, if it is a 3 or lower, you must commit foundations to pass it to get to 4 or let it fail. Hope this helps! :D

NJBrock22
12-03-2010, 07:45 AM
*makes note to have Jason add this to the AGR*

but yeah read anything that is "F(X+): E(X+): or R(X+)" as E/F/R, Make a Control check against Diff of X: if you fail the check your turn does not end any you may not attempt the ability again[for enhances and responses, most F(X+)s are first forms so ya don't have to worry about that either].

N.J.

SMazzurco
12-03-2010, 08:27 AM
Isn't that in the AGR somewhere...

NJBrock22
12-03-2010, 01:04 PM
spent 10 min digging thru it it's not in there...

N.J.

SMazzurco
12-03-2010, 01:16 PM
that would explain why every 2 weeks there is a topic
"What does (4+) mean?" lol

i swear i saw it SOMEWHERE...is it in the starter rules maybe?

NJBrock22
12-03-2010, 01:30 PM
yep near the end of the Starter rules, needs to be pasted to the AGR though:

"CONTROL CHECKS AS A COST FOR ABILITIES
Some abilities will contain a number in parentheses followed by a “+”
preceding the colon.
Example: E Discard 1 card (6+): Draw 1 card.
These are additional control checks that are required to play an ability.
After paying all other costs, make a control check against the diffi culty
listed in the parentheses.
To play the example ability if it were on a foundation, during an Enhance
Phase, the player would discard 1 card from his hand, then make
a control check against a diffi culty of 6 (committing foundations if
needed). If he succeeded, then he would draw 1 card from the top of his
deck. If he failed, he would not draw any cards.
If a player fails the control check to play an Enhance ability, he may not
attempt to play that Enhance again during the current attack’s Enhance
Phase.
If a player fails the control check to play a Form ability, he may not attempt
that ability again during the current Combat Phase.
If a player fails the control check to play a Response ability, he may not
attempt to play that ability again during the current trigger."