PDA

View Full Version : several questions



Magnusotls
12-18-2010, 12:01 AM
http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SNK05/scans/062.jpg

is multiple considered an enhance that has discarding momentum as a cost? Can I use Meat Eater to pay for momentum? if I do, what do I use as the face down attack?


http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SNK05/scans/008.jpg

if my opponent has one card and one momentum, but chooses to discard 2 cards/momentum, do they still discard that one card AND take the damage?

http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SNK05/scans/029.jpg

for cards like this that require the attack to have a specific speed or damage, if the opponent raises the attack's speed after I enhance with this card, is it still blocked?

NJBrock22
12-18-2010, 02:42 AM
1) yes it counts, but there is no multiple copy in play for it to be a copy of... so there's no reason to ever do that.

2) they're choosing an option they cannot fulfill(and WHY someone would do that is beyond me...) but yep they STILL mut try to fulfill it and since he opted to discard 2 momentum, he pitches 1 momentum and takes 3 damage.

3) the block was generated before they boosted the speed, thus the card is still blocked.

N.J.

Magnusotls
12-18-2010, 05:26 AM
and while I am here, what are the rules about positioning of momentum? Do they all need to look uniform or can I organize them in any order as I play? Can I turn some sideways to be an easy indicator for me that that is a particular card I want to recur?

Shinguyi
12-18-2010, 06:23 AM
Yep, any way you want as long as you don't peek at them.

You can organize momentum as many ays as you want (what I do is put them in alphabetical order when I add a acrd to momentum, remembering which momentum was what and its still legal).

aslum
12-18-2010, 08:53 AM
Actually that's not entirely accurate, your momentum can't be at any old angle. For starters there are means of committing momentum, so it has to be clear which momentum is ready and which is committed. As far as the order, you can arrange that however you like.

Shinguyi
12-18-2010, 09:12 AM
Actually that's not entirely accurate, your momentum can't be at any old angle. For starters there are means of committing momentum, so it has to be clear which momentum is ready and which is committed. As far as the order, you can arrange that however you like.

Couldn't you just place them in any angle or something unless there is a card in play which plays with momentum (readying and committing)? I mean, if no one has any ways of touching momentum then why shouldn't you be able o place them at angles?

NJBrock22
12-18-2010, 12:42 PM
nope ALL must be at the same orientation unless they were commited or readied for an effect, no exceptions. it was ruled this way a long time ago to prevent looping of certain face down cards in your momentum.

N.J.

Magnusotls
12-18-2010, 04:40 PM
can I have two piles of momentum, or have two stacks on either side of my character still touching it?

aslum
12-18-2010, 05:23 PM
Nope. One uniform stack.

Magnusotls
12-19-2010, 09:40 PM
http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SF07/scans/137.jpg

I understand i can use forms as much as I want if I can pay the costs, can I use responses like this one as much as I want too on the same ready step?

Tader_Salad
12-19-2010, 09:44 PM
http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SF07/scans/137.jpg

I understand i can use forms as much as I want if I can pay the costs, can I use responses like this one as much as I want too on the same ready step?

No. You may only play Experienced Combatant's response once per copy you have in play.

NJBrock22
12-19-2010, 11:04 PM
correct, you can only as long as ya have say 4+ cards in hand and 2 copies of EC in play, discard 4 cards to use both, it goes like this

Response trigger opponent's ready phase, trigger 1: chose first EC, discard 2 cards.
-Resolve card if no other triggers to this step.
back to initial response trigger: Chose 2nd EC, discard 2 cards.
-resolve card.
back to initial response trigger, either A not enough cards in hand and/or no more copies of EC in play, pass trigger.

Draw step begins.

thats about how it works, easy way to do it is to chose the card and set it aside to remind yourself that you used it durring that step, then resolve it, leave it there and search for any others ya got, resolve them, then put them all back the way you hand them before the trigger, thats how i always did it when i was playing my Fire Athena2, that kept me from over extending and discarding too many times with them.

N.J.

Magnusotls
12-20-2010, 01:04 AM
http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SCIV01/scans/071.jpg

do the cards discarded for experienced combatant count as cards I discarded during combat, so I can spam the crap out of ancient fighting style?

Tader_Salad
12-20-2010, 01:08 AM
http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SCIV01/scans/071.jpg

do the cards discarded for experienced combatant count as cards I discarded during combat, so I can spam the crap out of ancient fighting style?

Unfortunetely no. You discard for combatant during your opponant's ready step which is before the combat phase starts. That would be too sick :)

Magnusotls
12-20-2010, 01:18 AM
does priority in this game work like in magic?

Magnusotls
12-20-2010, 01:37 AM
http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SNK05/scans/007.jpg

if I play that as a block do I get the trigger?

This thread is now my official introduction to a new card game thread

RockStar
12-20-2010, 10:58 AM
http://www.twoheadeddragon.com/ufs/SNK05/scans/007.jpg

if I play that as a block do I get the trigger?

This thread is now my official introduction to a new card game thread

You sure do. You're playing this card as a Block, but it doesn't ever lose its card type. Hence, you are in fact playing this foundation into your card pool, as a block, but into your card pool nonetheless.

SMazzurco
12-20-2010, 11:10 AM
does priority in this game work like in magic?

Not sure what you are asking exactly.

Floating effects resolve first. Then you can react with "R: Trigger" type of reacts.
For example if an attack had a floating effect from an enhance "If this attack deals damage.." and you had a foundation in your staging area "R: After an attack deals damage..."
then the floating effect from the enhance goes off, then you have a window to react with the foundation.

The player whose turn it is ALWAYS gets to react first to a trigger, and their floating effects resolve first.

During the enhance phase it goes "back and forth" until both players pass "back to back". So if you pass, then your opponent uses an enhance, it goes back to you and you can pass again or use an enhance, if you pass, then your opponent passes, you move onto the block step.


If you have any more questions let us know. Also me and Iari(rockstar) may be seeing you soon if you play with Sean! (tader)

Magnusotls
12-20-2010, 01:15 PM
^ that about settled it.

when do you come up here? I am going to see you anyways because I am moving to Sunnyvale to melt in with the San Jose group.

SMazzurco
12-20-2010, 02:23 PM
^ that about settled it.

when do you come up here? I am going to see you anyways because I am moving to Sunnyvale to melt in with the San Jose group.

Nice. Ya i live in Santa Cruz, we play at epic but may be starting up something around Santa Clara. I may be spending more time too at SVGL/MGL now that SSFIV:AE is out...