PDA

View Full Version : omni faq?



Cachalote
12-24-2010, 12:50 AM
where is it?

last link is dead: http://forum.ufscentral.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=9

the obsolete one still working: http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=30&efcid=28&efidt=167756


there is a new link? hosted by jascogames

Thanks.

Shinguyi
12-24-2010, 10:05 AM
Little by little I plan to get it up in the wiki. Not sure if James is going to do the same in the main site.

Would be nice though.

aslum
12-24-2010, 10:33 AM
Here's the contents of that post. It's not been updated in a bit, and I took the UFSCentral forums down since these are now active.

The info in [Square Brackets] after each bullet point is the rules person who issued the ruling.
If the date in the [ ] is followed by an * it is an existing ruling whose original date is currently not known, but was confirmed by an official rules person on that date.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Chosen by Soul Calibur


The player activating this cards ability chooses one symbol (IE Death), and then both players gain that symbol (IE Death) until the beginning of the activating players next combat phase. [Antigoth 09/10/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Cursed Blood


If a split card is discarded, and one side of the card is a foundation, that foundation will be placed into the staging area committed. [Antigoth 09/11/09*]
This card has been reprinted with the 5-pointed watermark. All versions of this card (including those with the 3 point watermark) are legal for play in standard tournaments. [06/01/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______



Darkness Blade

This card's E may not be stopped by The Red Lotus of the Sun. This is because the E generates a continuous ability, or game state/ game rule. [Hata 08/13/2009]

This card's E ability may not be responded to by cards like Journey of Repentance, because the e ability does not immediately commit any cards, but creates a continuous game state. [Hata & Antigoth 08/13/09]

General Reminder - Darkness Blades's E is resolved immediately after it is played, and once both players have finished responding to it. [Antigoth 04/24/09]

When the continuous ability commits a card after an enhance is played, a player may respond with cards like Torn Hero, Journey of Repentance, and Dormant for Millions of Years. [Antigoth 08/13/09]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Dormant for Millions of Years

This card can respond to a static ability such as the one printed on the card Heel Snipe. [Antigoth 07/26/09]

If a players has 3 copies of Dormant in play, he may respond with each one to the same trigger. [Antigoth 07/26/09]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Dead for One Thousand Years

Dead for One Thousand Years will not negate the current use of a card that it is responding to. It will blank and prevent all future uses of the card end of the turn.
[Antigoth 07/18/09] This is a reversal of a previous ruling.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Enigmatic Maneuvers

The control check may be modified, or subject to a recheck. [Antigoth 09/10/09*]
You may not commit foundations for this control check. [Antigoth 09/10/09]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Fight or Flight

If the attack's damage is below its printed value, it cannot be "reduced" to its printed damage because that would require the damage to be increased, rather then reduced. However if the attacks damage is below its printed value, Fight or Flight's enhance will prevent the attack from receiving any damage bonuses. [Antigoth 09/10/09*]
If the attacks damage is below its printed value, it will still gain a bonus of its printed value. So if the attack was printed 6, but was reduced to 2, it would now be at 8 damage. [Antigoth 09/11/09*]


__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Flowing Gale Hook

If the E is successful, the player may either play 2 attacks or 0 attacks. This is because the card is worded "may play two" as opposed to "may play up to two", or "play two". [Antigoth 09/11/09*]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Fury of the Ancients

If the Zi Mei E is played, it means that you can use either momentum or foundations to generate multiples. IE; if you announce the multiple 3, you can pay the multiple cost by either:
- Discarding 3 momentum, and destroying 0 foundations.
- Discarding 2 momentum, and destroying 1 foundation.
- Discarding 1 momentum, and destroying 2 foundations.
- Discarding 0 momentum, and destroying 3 foundations.
[Antigoth 09/10/09]
The first enhance will grant the enhance ability to each multiple if it is played. That means to change the zone, each multiple would have to play the granted enhance, and the player can choose a different zone then was selected previously. [Antigoth 09/11/09]
The zone change enhance can be played before or after creation of multiples. Either way, multiples will have have this enhance ability. [Antigoth 09/11/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Fury of the North

The bonus generated by Fury of the North only counts cards committed by the cost of the enhance. If Fury of the North was the only card ready in the players staging area, it would only get +1. [Antigoth 09/11/09]
You can play this enhance ability if there are already cards committed in the staging area. [Antigoth 09/11/09]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Gloomy Side

The R Ability granted by this cards static text is considered to be on the Character card. If the character card is not ready, it may not be played. [Antigoth 09/10/09]

The E ability printed on this card is separate from the static text, and is played as any other enhance on an action card would be played. It is not added to the character card. [Antigoth 09/10/09]

A player may search any game zone for this card after Jolly Side's second paragraph is triggered. That includes the momentum, and the removed from game pile. [Antigoth 09/10/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Howling Spirits


If more then one howling spirits deal damage after having their enhance played, the pending damage will stack. [Antigoth 09/11/09*]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______
Internal Struggles


Functional Errata to this card:

Ignore the word either in the last sentence of this card.

X is limited by the number of momentum that a player has. If a player has 2 momentum, their opponent may choose 0,1, or 2. If a player has no momentum the only number that can be chosen is 0. [Antigoth 09/10/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Jin Kazama

The X in Jin's F ability is set when Jin plays the ability. [GouHadou 08/24/09]
If Jin's F ability is played multiple times in a turn the modifiers will stack. (IE giving his checks +1 & +1 for a total of +2) [Antigoth 09/11/09*]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Jolly Side

The R Ability granted by this cards static text is considered to be on the Character card. If the character card is not ready, it may not be played. [Antigoth 09/10/09]

The E ability printed on this card is separate from the static text, and is played as any other enhance on an action card would be played. It is not added to the character card. [Antigoth 09/10/09]

A player may search any game zone for this card after Gloomy Side's second paragraph is triggered. That includes the momentum, and the removed from game pile. [Antigoth 09/10/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Journey of Repentance


This card can respond to a static ability such as the one printed on the card Heel Snipe. [Antigoth 07/26/09]


This card can respond to committal generated by a game state. (IE After Darkness Blade's E has been resolved and a subsequent enhance is played.) [Antigoth & Hata 08/13/09]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Mysterious Stance

X is the speed of the attack at the time Mysterious Stance's enhance is played. [Antigoth 09/10/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


:Nakoruru:


Nakoruru's response ability may be played during your opponent's ready phase. [Antigoth 09/11/09*]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Path of the Master [PotM]

This card is not a terrain, and will not be removed by a Terrain entering play. Nor will it remove a Terrain when it enters play. [Antigoth 05/01/09]

This card is legal for play in sanctioned events [Antigoth 05/01/09]

Face-down cards generated by multiples, or that are a copy of another card will count for PotM's enhance. Face down cards that are simply placed into the card pool as face down cards will not. <Those cards have no symbols>
[Antigoth 09/11/09*]
Copies of this card can be obtained in North America by contacting either Failed2k or Icarus_Rising. In the UK contact Tuesday. Outside of the UK & North America - pick which ever one will send to your country.
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Paying Respect to Your Ancestors

Paying Respect to Your Ancestor may not respond to itself. It is not giving a damage bonus, it is modifying an existing damage bonus. [Antigoth 09/10/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Perfect Sense of Balance

This card may not respond to static abilities like Heel Snipe, because that ability is not played. [Antigoth 09/10/09]

This card cannot respond to committal generated by a game state. (IE After Darkness Blade's E has been resolved and a subsequent enhance is played.) [Antigoth 09/10/09]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

::R.Mika::

If you play a reversal from your hand as a result of R.Mika's E, you may still play another reversal during the reversal step, providing the normal requirements to play a reversal are met. [Antigoth 05/01/09]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


The Red Lotus of the Sun

This card will only stop cards whose effect will commit, destroy, or remove a card immediately upon the resolution of the cards effect. [Antigoth / Hata 08/13/09]

General reminder that an effect which states "If this attack deals damage" does not finish resolving until after the damage dealing step of the attack sequence. [Antigoth 04/24/09]

If an effect could commit a card upon its resolution (IE Amy's Assistance) Red Lotus will negate the entire effect when it is played. [Antigoth 08/13/09]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Shooting Caporea



The static text refers specifically to the enhance printed on the same copy of the card. If there are multiple Shooting Capoeras in play, each one will not be committed until that copys enhance has been played three or more times. [Antigoth 09/11/09*]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Stand-Off

The text stating "your opponent may commit 2 foundations to negate this ability" is a cost, and does not trigger anti-committal effects. [Antigoth 06/09/09]
Because it is classified as a cost, a character card may be committed as one of the two foundations to negate Stand-Off's enhance. [Antigoth 06/09/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Stone Skin

The enhance on this card can be used to modify the control check of the next attack you play. [Antigoth 09/10/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Torn Hero



Functional errata to this card's R ability:
R Discard 1 momentum: Before your opponent commits a card in your staging area, they commit this card instead.


If an effect would target more then 1 card to be committed, Torn Hero may protect one of the selected foundations from being committed. [Antigoth 07/29/09]


If an effect would commit more cards then you currently have ready in your staging area, Torn Hero can be used to protect 1 of those cards from being committed. [Antigoth 07/29/09]

This card will receive functional errata to bring its card text in line with Journey of Repentance [Hata 07/29/09]

If a non-played ability such as Heel Snipe commits this card, the static ability will permit you to commit 2 cards in your opponent's staging area. [Antigoth 08/14/09]

With the functional errata to this card, Torn Hero can respond to static effects like Heel Snipe.

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ ______


Turnabout

A player can play a reversal during the reversal step while resolving their opponents attack, then return to the resolution of the attack window, and play turnabout. [Antigoth 06/21/09]

If you have turnabout, you can play it in response to Ira Spinta, and if you still have a card in your staging area to pay the cost of Ispin's E, yes, you can "turnabout" it on them. [Antigoth 06/19/09]
If turnabout is used against a multiple's copy, it will be a 0speed 0 damage attack [Antigoth 06/18/09]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Undercover Agent

Undercover Agent may trigger after the second use of a played ability, or after any subsequent use of the same ability. [Antigoth 03/24/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Undisputed Ruler


If the Throw Keyword is removed it will be returned at the end of the enhance phase. So if the throw is blocked, it will still deal half damage even if the keyword was blanked during the enhance step. [Antigoth 09/10/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

Vega's Mask



If Vega's Mask is responded to with Dead for One Thousand Years[Df1kY], unless Df1kY's ability is negated, Vega's Mask will not have another opportunity to respond to the control check modification Window. [Antigoth 09/10/09]


__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Vimana

If another effect adds a cost to block, that cost must be paid in addition to Vimana's "Lose X Vitality" to generate a block effect. [Antigoth 09/10/09*]


If Vimana's ability is successfully played, but for whatever reason the block effect fails to be created, the attack will not deal any damage despite not being blocked. [Antigoth 09/10/09*]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______


Visions of Destiny


If there are fewer then 4 cards left in the deck, the player looks at as many cards as are remaining. [Antigoth 09/11/09*]

Visions of destiny is merely looking at the top 4 cards, and reordering them. This ability will not cause a players deck to cycle. [Antigoth 09/11/09*]

__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______

War Between Sisters

If a player is forced to discard momentum, and has less then the specified amount, they will fulfill the effect to the best of their ability, and discard any momentum they do have. [Antigoth 09/11/09]
__________________________________________________ __________________________________________________ _______