PDA

View Full Version : Question about Directing an Empire



ChaosFlash
02-13-2011, 06:43 PM
Hello. I am curious as to how to activate this ability. It is my understanding that cards like Ring Veteran, etc. choose a foundation to commit upon resolution. This requires a life payment as a cost, which designates potential attributes about what can be committed, much like Sacrifices for the Cause. My only concern is the final clause: "foundation COMMITTED". It seems like you would have to choose a specific foundation upon activation of the ability, not resolution. Is this correct?

Shinguyi
02-13-2011, 06:58 PM
Yeah... its a strange wording (noticed that a little from some of the new cards) but it should read something like this:

R Commit, lose X vitality: After your opponent's Ready Phase, commit a foundation in your opponent's staging area with a difficulty of half of X (rounded up).

Or could be as you mentioned: choose a foundation, pay, then resolve the ability. Both ways should work the same way as in that you lose vitality depending on the foundation you committed. Also could work if the vitality loss was part of the ability and not part of the cost but that could just be me.

NOTE: That is my interpretation of the ability and how it should work; not taking a place of an official staff in any way.

GouHadou
02-14-2011, 03:57 PM
http://wiki.ufscentral.com/images/9/97/RH01-093.jpg

yes, you must follow the directions/clauses in the text box before even activating the ability. X is defined therein, so that is what will be the cost when attempting to pay for the ability

SMazzurco
02-14-2011, 04:01 PM
Nice flying squirrel

GouHadou
02-14-2011, 04:14 PM
damn squirrels, i can see it just fine >.<

Trip Se7ens
02-14-2011, 04:21 PM
Omar is alive!!!!!!!!!!!

Da_ghetto_gamer
02-14-2011, 10:13 PM
Omar is alive!!!!!!!!!!!

I was thinking the same thing!

Cetonis
04-24-2011, 10:04 AM
So what does the opponent know when you play this? Do you just tell them the vitality, or do you need to inform them of the specific foundation being chosen?

GouHadou
04-25-2011, 03:22 PM
they know the cost you paid

Cetonis
04-25-2011, 04:03 PM
If all you need to announce is the amount being paid... can you choose an "impossible" value of X? For instance, choosing 0 when they have no 0diff foundations, (perhaps you're Honda or something) or some arbitrarily large amount if you're shooting for Desperation?

GouHadou
04-25-2011, 04:10 PM
unfortunately no, since the X is defined by the ability. NO HARAKIRI

Token
04-27-2011, 10:18 PM
Since it says "rounded up", I lose 0 vit to commit something of 0-1 diff, 1 vit to commit 2-3 diff, etc?

Hayamachop
04-27-2011, 10:46 PM
half of 1 rounded up is 1 so you lose 1 vit to do 1-2. 2 vit 3-4. 3 vit for 5-6.

Tagrineth
04-28-2011, 09:28 PM
Hayama is correct.