PDA

View Full Version : Gencon '11

makingsenseofus
08-10-2011, 10:41 AM
Figured I'd do something of a report since I did pretty OK this weekend. Playing legacy on 42 hours of no sleep, plus getting my backpack stolen, top 2ing in teams, turning 21 and grabbing standard by the nuts is definitely worth recording for the masses. Keep in mind, I took no notes of what happened in these few days, I just remember the epic triumphs and crushing defeats.

WEDNESDAY NIGHT/THURSDAY

I booked my hotel on the cheap for Gencon. We had just 3 days in the hotel, meaning we were driving up Wednesday night so we could hit up legacy on Thursday. I had thrown together 3 decks: Dhalsim for Legacy, King for Extended and Eva for Standard (which I have been playing for at least 3 months). Traveling with me were Syclic, Marco and ATLPiglett. An hour before we were going to leave for Gencon, we threw together a legacy deck for Syclic and Marco, then a really bad Hugo deck for Piglett for extended. Anyway, the car ride was 9 hours, with me driving the first 7 and marco finishing up the last 2 so I could get some “sleep”. Granted, there is not much room in a Honda fit for people to nap comfortably, and the car doesn't take bumps well. Needless to say, we arrived at the con at about 8 AM, sleep deprived and ready to play UFS.

Which, at Gencon, is secret code for standing in lines. Syclic, being the more responsible of our passengers, had already pre-registered months ago. However, apparently so did pretty much 95% of gencon. The line for will call stretched around several corners and doubled back on itself. It was undoubtedly the worst cluster:):):):) in Gencon line standing history. Luckily, Marco, Piglett and I were lazy people who decided before the trip we would just stand in the huge line for event registration, which in this particular event meant we got to just walk up to the counter and give the people our money, get our badges and be on our way. /laziness-success