PDA

View Full Version : Pull of the Tides



KodiakZero
07-31-2010, 10:19 PM
Lets say someone has 2 The Man Behind the Mask, and uses each one once. Then, during another attack he uses 1 again. Can Pull of the Tides be used? I've heard the effects has to be on the same card :confused:

Tagrineth
07-31-2010, 10:42 PM
No. Pull of the Tides only looks at the "same ability" being played three times.

If two separate copies of MBTM counted as the "same ability" you wouldn't be able to play both during one Enhance Step! So it has to be the same copy of the same ability from one card.

aslum
07-31-2010, 11:04 PM
What about an ability that has been played four times?
For example Mitsurugi + Inhuman speed done 4 times each.
Since the active player gets the first chance to respond to a trigger the non Mitsurugi player wouldn't be able to respond until well after the 3rd time it was used.
Would the triggers "work back" and you could respond, or does this get around POTT?

Example (triggers in parenthesis)
Player B has a POTT.
Player A Plays:
An enhance that changes the zone of the attack.
. R w/ M (1)
.. R w/ IS (2)
... R w/ M (3)
.... R w/ IS (4)
..... R w/ M (5)
...... R w/ IS (6)
....... R w/ M (7)
........ R w/ IS (8)
Player A doesn't react to (8)
Player B doesn't react to (8)
Player A doesn't react to (7)
Player B doesn't react to (7)
Player A doesn't react to (6)
Player B can or can not play POTT at this point?

Tagrineth
07-31-2010, 11:52 PM
Actually, for the Inhuman Samurai loop, Pull can easily respond.

'Rugi and IS both respond when the effects are actually applied, rather than when the abilities are played. So the 'Rugi player is actually resolving each effect in turn, not just playing them. Thus, the trigger for Pull is easy to discern and interrupts the process with ease.

aslum
08-01-2010, 12:22 AM
A closer look shows you're half right, but half is good enough. 'Rugi reacts to playing an ability not the ability being applied, but IS reacts to a speed bonus being applied... so you can POTT the IS but not 'Rugi.
Good. I don't feel as bad about this combo.