PDA

View Full Version : UFS needs new licensed content

jhorphear
08-06-2010, 02:20 PM
hi everyone, im new to the game but quickly falling in love with it. i was giving some thought and there are deffinatly some licensed content jasco games could pickup to really make a good push for the games third life. i know jasco games probly doesnt have alot of cash since they picked up the game, but if they could manage to pickup any of the following licenses they could really make some cash.

Dragonball - the upper deck game is dead as far as i know, and this system would work really well with it.

Mortal Combat - ive never seen mortal combat in a TCG before.

Star Wars - the system would work i think, but the license would cost anywhere from 5-10 million, probly a little too rich.

Ninja turtles - would be an instant success based on nostalgia alone

Berserk/Hellsing - two of the most epic animes i have ever watched, also alot of manga to get content from, and since the anime market has collapsed the licenses would probly be dirt cheap

tell me what you guys think, seeing as i dont really know the history of UFS to well these ideas might already have been discussed and shot down. please enlighten me :-)

RockStar
08-06-2010, 02:29 PM
I agree with you that it would be very nice indeed if Jasco could license another IP. That said, i don't see that happening in the next year, if only because doing so might be prohibitively expensive for them at this point.

However, i disagree with every potential license you named:

DBZ...at one time this would've made sense, but its popularity has waned pretty significantly.

Mortal Combat...hasn't been innovative or considered a mainstay Arcade Fighter in years! There are better ones out there that should be considered FIRST, like, say, SSFIV, for example!

Star Wars...not saying it wouldn't work. But, as you said, the licensing would be potentially outrageous (Jem!)!