PDA

View Full Version : Creating a Limited environment for UFS

wafflecopter
08-10-2010, 08:49 PM
I hopped off the UFS train after FFG walked away, and in the time between then and now I started playing Magic a little bit. By far the most fun and interesting thing I found in Magic was drafting... I've done a few (very few) UFS drafts, but they're obviously much much different.

It's a really great system when it works; all you need to get started is a group of willing players and sealed product, and there's never any scrambling beforehand to make sure you have all the cards for your deck. Plus, if the sets you're drafting are well-made, you'll never have someone win games just because they brought a degenerate combo or deck full of rares.

If you have no idea what drafting or "a Limited environment" mean, I'll explain. To start a draft, you need about six to eight people (for Magic, at least) with 3 unopened booster packs each. Everyone opens 1 pack, and chooses 1 card. Then they pass the remaining cards to their left, and picks 1 card from their new pile. Repeat passing and picking until your packs are gone, then open a new one and pass the other way... until that pack is gone, then open the 3rd and last and pass the other way.

Have you ever drafted UFS? How'd it go? I figure it's better to gauge everyone's interest before I start spouting crap about something I honestly barely understand. Mostly, what I'd love to see is a thought-out set of rules for drafting UFS (my two concerns at the moment, having only done very few drafts of very old cards, are how characters are distributed and milling/cycling), and some discussion over what makes a set friendly to drafting/which sets are particularly good for it. Interested?

bloodocean
08-10-2010, 09:02 PM