Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Guile R + Champion of Southtown

  1. #1
    Regular Member generalreaction2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    The Land of Champions
    Posts
    439

    Guile R + Champion of Southtown

    The question today is a simple one: If I use the form on Champion of Southtown to add a foundation from my discard pile to my cardpool, am I then able to use Guile's R ability to add said foundation to my staging area after playing a charge attack?

    Guile can be found here: https://scontent-atl3-1.xx.fbcdn.net...a1&oe=59C2D65E

    And here is Champion of Southtown: http://ufsultra.com/cache/images/ext...tn-preview.jpg
    2016 US Nationals Teams Champion (Team Caught Rod Handed)

    2015 Worlds Standard Singles Top 16
    2015 US Nationals Standard Singles Top 16
    2015 US Nationals Teams Top 8
    2014 Worlds Standard Singles Top 8 (I think i got 6th?)
    2014 Worlds Teams Swiss Champs and Top 8
    2012 Worlds Standard Top 16
    2012 Worlds Teams 3rd Place
    2011 Worlds Standard Top 8

  2. #2
    Regular Member generalreaction2.0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    The Land of Champions
    Posts
    439
    Guile R for clarity:

    R Commit 1 Foundation: After you play a Charge attack, add up to 2 foundations from your card pool to your staging area.
    2016 US Nationals Teams Champion (Team Caught Rod Handed)

    2015 Worlds Standard Singles Top 16
    2015 US Nationals Standard Singles Top 16
    2015 US Nationals Teams Top 8
    2014 Worlds Standard Singles Top 8 (I think i got 6th?)
    2014 Worlds Teams Swiss Champs and Top 8
    2012 Worlds Standard Top 16
    2012 Worlds Teams 3rd Place
    2011 Worlds Standard Top 8

  3. #3
    Seems pretty clear to me. Is there an argument for why it wouldn't work?
    ~Learn your rules, you better learn your rules,
    If you don't, you'll be eaten in your sleep~


    Arkansas Regionals 2012 Top 8
    Arkansas PTC 2013 Top 4
    Arkansas PTC 2017 Champ

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Davie, FL
    Posts
    82
    Is there a version of this picture that's actually readable?
    "Hail to the King, Baby"

    - Ashley J. Williams

  5. #5
    http://ufsultra.com/cache/images/ext...tn-preview.jpg

    All of the SF booster cards are on ultra now.
    ~Learn your rules, you better learn your rules,
    If you don't, you'll be eaten in your sleep~


    Arkansas Regionals 2012 Top 8
    Arkansas PTC 2013 Top 4
    Arkansas PTC 2017 Champ

  6. #6
    Member Star Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    67
    The argument for it not working is this. South Town puts a foundation card into your card pool. A "Foundation" referred to in Guile's ability would generally mean a foundation card played as a form.
    Las Vegas Locals 5-10-17: Last Place, 1-0 vs the Bye Round

  7. #7
    Senior Member Cetonis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vernon, CT
    Posts
    3,374
    That'd only be in the context of "playing a foundation", generally as it relates to response and fired effect triggers (I'm sure there's an LGR citation for this, it's just a shorthand so that you don't need (not as a block) on every other effect in the game). So i.e. you couldn't use Guile's R on blocking with a charge attack card, but there's still a charge attack in your card pool once it's there.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Star Lord View Post
    The argument for it not working is this. South Town puts a foundation card into your card pool. A "Foundation" referred to in Guile's ability would generally mean a foundation card played as a form.
    In that case I'd wonder what the reasoning for the foundation card counting as a "foundation" in all areas except when it's just face up in your card pool.
    I'd say this works just like Team Art of Fighting and Ash* could work together, for example, unless I've been missing something.
    ~Learn your rules, you better learn your rules,
    If you don't, you'll be eaten in your sleep~


    Arkansas Regionals 2012 Top 8
    Arkansas PTC 2013 Top 4
    Arkansas PTC 2017 Champ

  9. #9
    Member Star Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    67
    Just playing Devil's advocate here. I think it should work.
    Las Vegas Locals 5-10-17: Last Place, 1-0 vs the Bye Round

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Vegas
    Posts
    332
    Yeah I guess you only need the "card" part when its being played? any other time just "attack" or "foundation" means "attack card" outside of being played but "attack card" only means "attack card" when playing an attack card as a block and not an "attack".
    2016 UFS Team Worlds: 3rd place, Demitri Life

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO