If you are playing as Taki and block an attack with safe, can you use her R (R [Once per turn]: After this blocked attack resolves, discard all cards from both card pools and draw 1 card.) to discard the attack from the card pool, get rid of the safe restriction, and play a reversal to the attack?

As I understand it, Taki's R and the Reversal R have the same response window (a blocked attack resolving) and you can therefore choose in which order you play them. By the time Taki's R resolves and you move to play the Reversal, the safe restriction is no longer there because the attack is no longer in the card pool and has no abilities.

Am I interpreting this correctly?