Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Chi Disruptor and Know When to Talk timing

  1. #1
    Scout / Trade Forum Moderator ShadowDragon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Oregon, WI
    Posts
    326

    Chi Disruptor and Know When to Talk timing

    Ok, this is something a friend of mine has been wondering about and I want to make sure I've got things right too.

    2 questions about this scenerio: player A attacks player B, who has a KWtT in their staging area and blocks with a Chi Disruptor (aside from the CD, their card pool is otherwise clear).

    If they use CD's R first, can they still respond with KWtT after passing their attack or would the window have closed?

    Also, if they respond with KWtT immediately after blocking, and then use CD's R, do they have to check for a 4 or a 5? (Would CD keep its place in the card pool or would it have moved because it is being played again?)

  2. #2
    Head Judge
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,605
    You have to respond with Chi Disruptor's R: first, then Know When to Talk..


    (this was wrong - see below)
    Last edited by Tagrineth; 06-23-2010 at 10:55 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member RockStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    2,181
    Does responding with Chi Disruptor's R first get around KWtTs text of "You may not play a reversal"? If that's the case, and you get to choose the order of your Rs in the 1st place, what's to keep players from EVER being restricted by KWtTs caveat text??

  4. #4
    Scout NJBrock22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Livingston/Crossville, TN
    Posts
    1,963
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowDragon View Post
    Ok, this is something a friend of mine has been wondering about and I want to make sure I've got things right too.

    2 questions about this scenerio: player A attacks player B, who has a KWtT in their staging area and blocks with a Chi Disruptor (aside from the CD, their card pool is otherwise clear).

    If they use CD's R first, can they still respond with KWtT after passing their attack or would the window have closed?

    Also, if they respond with KWtT immediately after blocking, and then use CD's R, do they have to check for a 4 or a 5? (Would CD keep its place in the card pool or would it have moved because it is being played again?)
    first scenario i personally looking at the card text see it as a cant vs can thing and cant ALWAYS Wins(unless a card effect says otherwise) so if ya even TRY to use kwtt in conjunction with Chi Disruptor... well ya just commited a foundation for nothing...

    to second scenario, if ya didnt use KWtt at all, and ya fail the check for playing Chi as a reversal it would leave the card pool because you essentially picked it up and played it as a reversal, think of it as putting it in the transitional zone hence it left the card pool and it goes to your discard pile, but hey at least it freed up a spot for your next block.

    N.J.
    NJ Spade sole survivor of the Card Gaming Dynasty known as Cookeville Corp.

    Writer of Articles for TCO and Jasco Games for UFS

    Achievements
    2006: 3rd place Nashville-Franklin FoP(Life X***); 2007: 18th place Murfreesboro AOP(Fire Athena2); 2008: 5th place(2nd thru swiss) Middlesboro AOP(Fire Athena2); 2009: 28th place SEC @ MTAC Mt. Juliet(Life Yuri)

  5. #5
    Head Judge
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2,605
    -----

    Scratch that, Chi Disruptor's R: sets up a condition for playing itself as a Reversal later, after KWTT's restriction is in place. I forgot that CD doesn't play itself right away.

    No, you can't combine the two effects. ^^;
    Last edited by Tagrineth; 06-23-2010 at 10:55 AM.

  6. #6
    Senior Member RockStar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    2,181
    Thanks for the clarification, gang!!

  7. #7
    Senior Member SMazzurco's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    1,508
    Technically you could play the R on chi disruptor, then use KwtT, but then you could not play Chi as a reversal, correct?

    (maybe you have a chasing after the power out you want to commit...work with me here lol)
    Turtles all the way down.
    2009 Silicone Cup Regional Champ 2009 EAG Store Champ
    2010 Nat's Legacy top 8 and Standard Top 4
    Rolling 2's on 20 sided die's like it's going out of style
    My Massive Trade List
    Self Proclaimed Winner of Wizard Staff 2010 due to Omar's Disqualification
    There are no stupid questions, just stupid answers.
    PSN: Mazzurco XBL: Mazzurco

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO