Frequently Asked Questions

How does Bang interact with Character Statics?

So Bang! can seal any card in your opponent’s staging area, including their character. This can lead to some weird interactions. Here are some of them.

What happens if Bang! seals a Heidi that has Krieger’s attached?

The Krieger’s can only be attached to Heidi thanks to her continuous ability. When that ability is removed, the Krieger’s fall off.

The LGR states that “Any card with the [Character Name] Only keyword that is in a player’s staging area, in their transit zone en
route to their staging area, in their card pool, or in their transit zone en route to their card pool, is discarded unless
that player’s starting character is [Character Name].”

What happens if Bang! seals Mad Pierrot if he has all 4 copies stacked?

Mad Pierrot’s attacks are no longer unblockable. His continuous ability that forces your opponent to be unable to block is no longer there. In particular it is a rule effect that simply prevents your opponent from playing blocks.

The LGR states that “If a rule effect instructs for some phase(s) or step(s) to be skipped or re-ordered, it must be active before
the start of the first affected phase or step, or else that instruction fails to execute.”

When exactly do I respond with the bottom response on Bebop Blues?

Bebop Blues’ bottom response is looking for the same ability on the same card. A player would have to use the same ability on a card three times in order for Bebop Blues to respond to it and commit their character.

Bebop Blues is worded the same way as “Nailed It!”. It only refers to the same ability being played on a single card.

Can Bass use his response in response to Portal Barrier and The Wall of Goro?

No. In UFS Damage can mean multiple things. In the context of the damage step, there is the damage statistic and the damage dealt by a safe attack. In Bass’s case he can only his response when an attack’s damage statistic is affected, not when the damage being dealt is reduced.

What happens if you block a multiple attack with Cool and Focused?

Cool and Focused says that “When you attempt to block with this card, return your opponent’s attack to its printed speed and zone.”

Well what is a multiple attack’s printed speed? The LGR States that “If an effect requires a printed value from a card that does not have that value printed on it, use zero if it is a numerical value, and treat it as a “null” otherwise. ” So, the printed value defaults to 0.

How about the zone? The LGR states that “If the base attack zone of a card would be “null” or non-existent, it is mid
instead.”

So it returns the zone to mid, and speed to 0. Blocking a Multiple attack with Cool and Focused is a fantastic idea.

Can Eligor use his response after a safe attack resolves?

Yes, he can. Safe prevents an attack being played as a reversal. Eligor’s ability allows him to play a reversal attack after an attack resolves. The attack being played is not considered to be being played as a reversal, which gets around safe. 

How does Fade work against action cards that remove themselves as cost?

If a player plays an action card like “Bang!” or “Yin & Yang” and removes it for it’s cost, and the other player responds with Fade to cancel it and return it to the hand, the action will be canceled returned to the player’s hand from the RFG pile. In the case of “Bang!”, it may be played again during the same enhance step. In the case of “Yin & Yang”, the response window is still open, so it may be used again.

There is no rule that says cards from the removed from game pile cannot come out of that zone. Although these effects are very rare in UFS, they do exist in cards like Section 13’s Failed Experiment or Majigen.

Can I respond to Fatality being played?

Yes.
Fatality says “your opponent cannot play abilities during this attack.”
“During this attack” means “during the attack sequence” which consists of the Enhance Step, Block Step, and Damage Step.

You can still respond to Fatality being played with cards like Way of a True Warrior, Evil Imposter, Princess Parry, Skull Barrier, etc.
Once the Enhance Step begins, you can no longer play abilities until after Fatality resolves.

Once Fatality resolves, you will be able to play abilities again. This means that you can respond with Black Dog’s Fangs upon Fatality’s resolution.

In the event where Evil Imposter responds to Fatality to make it lose all of its abilities, attacks refresh after they resolve, and Fatality will go to its owner’s momentum after resolution.

Does removing kick, punch, or slam off with Way of the True Warrior stop Felicia’s Second Enhance ?

Yes, it does. The attack will not qualify for speed, nor will it give your next check +2 if it deals damage. “It” in the ability text refers to your kick, punch, or slam attack, so if your attack is missing those keywords, Felicia’s second enhance will have no effect. 

Note, however, that Felicia’s next check will still receive a bonus even if Felicia’s does not have 2 or more momentum.

How does Huitzil and Shield Ram interact?

If both Huitzil’s enhance and Shield Ram’s Combo Enhance are both activated and your opponent blocks Shield Ram, Shield Ram will be discarded in during the damage step. Huitzil will no longer be able to add Shield Ram back to his hand.

How does Jet interact with MM:Copy?

Say you play MM:Copy as Jet, and then respond with MM:copy to have it gain one of the three keyword abilities.
Can you respond with Jet?

Unfortunately, no. Jet can only increase the ratings of keyword a card printed in the keyword line.
Similarly for NPYUU Distraction, Jet will only increase the Powerful rating, and not the Multiple rating.

How does Jet interact with Time Slow?

With the updated rulings in LGR version 0.6, this seems like a good example of the new rules regarding desperation/deadlock in work.

So, say you’re playing as Jet and your opponent plays a Time Slow, how does Jet’s response ability work versus Time Slow?

Well, if Jet responds, Time Slow will have it’s Stun rating of 2 reduced to zero. However, it will not touch Desperation: Stun: 2.

“Desperation Stun:2” counts for 0 keywords, but is approximately shorthand for “When you’re in Desperation, this attack gains Stun: 2” which is not a printed keyword that Jet can affect.

How does Kaden*** interact with responses on block cards?

Kaden***’s response sets up a fired effect that lets him return a card he blocked with to his hand. This can be used with combination with cards with continuous effects. Some examples include, Pull My Trigger, Ghostly Manuevers, Push the Limit, Peaceful Messengers. 

Kaden***’s response does not work with other responses on block however. Fired effects occur before response windows are opened. What this means is that due to Kaden’s ability, your block will be back in your hand before anyone may respond.

What happens if Kung Jin discards a non-block card for his enhance ability?

If an effect requires a printed value from a card that does not have that value printed on it, use zero if it is a numerical value, and treat it as a “null” otherwise.

This means that if you discard at least 1 non-block card for Kung Jin’s enhance ability, he will give his attack +4 speed.

Can Breaking Bread and Hi-Fi Stereo respond after being added to the staging by The Mysterious Mr. X?

Yes! In UFS, Responses can interrupt effects that are currently being executed. In this case the response abilities of both Breaking Bread and Hi-Fi Stereo will interrupt the response ability of The Mysterious Mr. X. 

What happens if Psychedelic Mushroom copies a unique foundation or asset?

Psychedelic Mushroom will gain all the abilities including unique. Unique says you cannot have 2 or more copies of that card in your staging area.
This means if you copy a unique with Psychedelic Mushroom, you’ll only be able to have one Unique Psychedelic Mushroom.

 

What happens if Psychedelic Mushroom copies a Terrain foundation?

Psychedelic mushroom gaining Terrain will destroy all other terrains and then lose it’s ability.

 

What happens to Psychedelic Mushroom if the chosen foundation or asset is sealed or flipped?

Psychedelic Mushroom will gain the printed abilities of that card. So even if the original foundation or asset is sealed or flipped, Psychedelic Mushroom will keep all of its abilities.

 

What happens to Psychedelic Mushroom if the chosen foundation is flipped then leaves the staging area?

If the flipped foundation leaves, Psychedelic Mushroom will still keep it’s abilities. This is because Psychedelic Mushroom will not see the foundation it copied leave the staging area, which is what causes the trigger for it to lose all abilities.

 

What happens to Psychedelic Mushroom if it is Sealed?

Nothing special. It’ll be sealed as normal, but will retain the copied abilities once the turn ends.

 

If Psychedelic Mushroom copies Bridging the Races, can it ready itself?

Sadly, no. Bridging the races, specifies ready this foundation. Psychedelic Mushroom is still an asset after copying

Splash Woman and Playing as if from hand.

Splash Woman has a static ability that only allows you to play up to 4 cards a turn from your hand. It’s fairly difficult to live or to kill when you can only block or attack 4 times. 

Thankfully there are bunch of cards that help to mitigate this. All of these cards do not count toward the limit because they aren’t played from your hand. The text “as though it were in your hand” is simply an effect that allows the card to be played outside of your hand.

Felicity House can block using your momentum. Fire Storm is an additional attack from your discard pile. Spreggio and Skull Barrier both are only 1 card and counts as a block and an attack.

When do you decide if the next attack gets +damage or -damage with Tiger Uppercut and 8000 Degrees?

The decision is made when the next attack is played. The ability of both Tiger Uppercut and 8000 degrees set up effects defined as a Modifier Effect. 

When you create a modifier effect, you lift up the entire text of that effect, and wait until it finds something to modify. For instance, “The next attack gets +3 or -3 damage.” When it finds something — when you have a “next attack” — you follow the instructions of the modifier effect, making choices as necessary.

What happens if I activate What Lies Ahead on a throw attack?

It depends. Abilities which change how an attack deals damage during the Damage Step are all Rule Effects. Some examples include the Throw keyword, the Enhance of What Lies Ahead, and the single abilities of Direct Hit, and Ophidiophobia.

The LGR states that “If there are multiple rule effects that need to be handled at the same time, the active player handles theirs in the order of their choosing, then the inactive player handles theirs in the order of their choosing.” This means that the inactive player’s rule effect will override the other rule effects that are conflicting.

In addition, effects which prohibit (using phrases like “deals no”) take precedence in a conflict. That means that any effect like Ophidiophobia will always prevent all damage from an attack.

However, in the case of conflicting effects, the non-active player’s effect wins. If the active player plays a Throw, and their opponent activates What Lies Ahead on it then fully blocks, the Throw will only deal 1 damage during the Damage Step. However, the situation is reversed in the case of Reversals: Imagine that my opponent attacks me with Spider Suplex (a throw) as a reversal, and I activate What Lies Ahead, and I completely block. I, the active player, will have a rule effect that is handled (What Lies Ahead), then my opponent, the inactive player will have their rule effect handled (Throw) which will override my effect. I will then take half damage rounded up, instead of 1 damage.

How does the effect work on Zeltzereich?

Zeltzerich replaces the first instance of vitality gain with drawing a card. Zeltzerich only works if you would gain at least 1 vitality, this means that Zeltzereich will not replace the first instance of vitality gain if you are already at maximum vitality. You are also not considered to have gained vitality if you replace the vitality gain with Zeltzereich’s ability. 

Single Sign On provided by vBSSO